Is Spring Really the Ideal Time to Make Lifestyle Changes?

13 Apr

Image

 

 

Recently, I’ve been doing some reflecting about health and wellness and what seems to cause people to take care of themselves better during certain parts of the year more so than others. Do people genuinely just hate cold weather so much that they take a hiatus from healthy living for a few months until it warms up again outside? Are there other factors involved that contribute to this unfortunate trend?  Well, with this questions in mind, I decided to do a little research online to see if anyone else had been stricken with a similar sense of uncertainty and curiosity.

As it turns out, some actually believe that the body “shuts down” for winter, thus lowering metabolic function (to a certain degree), making us feel much less like getting out and doing anything. So does this mean we’re simply destined to be couch potatoes during the winter months? Or is there a way that we can fight this ugly pattern and maintain a stable and consistent activity level throughout the year?

There are a few tips that I came across while doing my research that restored my hope and faith and in the concept of consistent healthy habits. They included (but were not limited to) wearing multiple layers while outside (placing a dri-fit layer closest to the skin), joining a team and encouraging friends to take part with you, joining a gym and utilizing the sauna, find an indoor pool and get to swimming, and create a schedule/routine that can be easily followed and stuck to so that it is not as likely to fall off the wagon.

I feel like with each of these suggestions taken into consideration and put into play, regardless of our natural tendencies, we can all lead relatively active lives- even when it is unbearably chilly outside!

 

Metabolism Awakens in the Spring – Lose Weight Then

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/winter-exercise/#axzz2QN0lDAJr

One Response to “Is Spring Really the Ideal Time to Make Lifestyle Changes?”

  1. Kristine Nguyen April 20, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    I really do believe that the body shuts down for the winter to conserve energy! Unfortunately, that is when I start packing on the pounds. But now that the weather is warmer, I’m more motivated to start riding my bike instead of driving, and I plan on starting my medicinal garden soon! I’m a poor college student, so joining a gym is not a practical plan, but I hope to build some habits that will last even through the coldest months.

Leave a comment